Maura Hirschauer

Mom | Organizer | Activist


Maura Hirschauer (she/her) is part of the 102nd General Assembly of Illinois. She represents portions of the Fox Valley, mostly east of the Fox River, including portions of Aurora, Bartlett, Batavia, Elgin, Geneva, Hanover, Naperville, North Aurora, South Elgin, St. Charles, Warrenville, Wayne, West Chicago, and Winfield; which comprise portions of Suburban Cook, DuPage, and Kane Counties.

Maura is a former educator, community leader, and activist. She is a founding member and legislative lead of the Kane and Kendall County Chapter of Moms Demand Action for Gun Safety in America and a passionate commonsense gun safety advocate. Maura served as the President of a community-based philanthropic organization, The Batavia Mothers’ Club Foundation, and currently serves on its executive board. Through this work she collaborated with community leaders to improve the quality of life for children and families in the Fox River Valley. She also served as a Girl Scout Leader for six years. Maura is a former teacher, with comprehensive experience teaching in early childhood, elementary, and adult ESL classrooms. She earned her B.A. in English from Colby College in Waterville, Maine and pursued graduate studies in Elementary Education at the University of Colorado at Denver.

Maura Portrait

district 49


Illinois’ State Representative District 49 (shown in blue on the map) contains some of the far-west suburbs of Chicago including Bartlett, West Chicago, South Elgin, Batavia, Aurora, and Naperville and along part of the border of DuPage and Kane counties. It comprises approximately 65,000 voters and 112,000 constituents in over 38,000 households.

Districts are redrawn after the national census results are available, every 10 years. This map went into effect in 2023 at the start of Illinois’ 103rd General Assembly.

If your home is near the boundary of any district, you should check your address specifically to learn your assigned districts. You can search your address and find your elected officials at the Illinois Board of Elections site.