Illlinois State Seal in color with text "Illinois House of Representatives" centered at top and "103rd General Assembly" centered at bottom.

Members of the Illinois House of Representatives Democratic Women’s Caucus and allies release the following statement:

“We are shocked and deeply saddened by the recent gun violence that has again struck our state and our nation. How many people must die before addressing the deadly intersection between domestic violence and firearms? This fatal combination was again painfully evident in the recent murder of Adrianna Lopez, who was shot and killed allegedly by an abusive ex-boyfriend who also shot an Illinois State Trooper. These incidents are grim reminders that the ripple effects of trauma echo far beyond the intimate relationship – affecting children who live with and witness it, and the family members, and law enforcement who respond to it.

The tragic events that unfolded in Maine are all too common, and we cannot relent in our mission to get weapons of war off our streets and out of our communities. Though details are still emerging, early news reports have suggested the suspect, Robert Card may have a history of domestic violence. A recent study showed that in more than two-thirds of mass shootings, the perpetrator either killed family or intimate partners or the shooter had a history of domestic violence.

“While we have made progress in recent years to combat the gun violence epidemic, our work is far from over. We have one more week of the veto session upcoming, and collectively, we urge the General Assembly to pass additional legislation like Karina’s Bill to combat gun violence and get guns out of the hands of domestic abusers.”

Rep. Dagmara Avelar-85th

Rep. Diane Blair-Sherlock-46th

Rep. Mary Beth Canty-54th

Rep. Kelly Cassidy-14th

Rep. Sharon Chung-91st

Rep. Terra Costa Howard-42nd

Rep. Eva-Dina Delgado-3rd

Rep. Laura Faver Dias-62nd

Leader Robyn Gabel-18th

Rep. Mary Gill-35th

Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz-17th

Rep. Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar-22nd

Rep. Will Guzzardi-39th

Leader Elizabeth “Lisa” Hernandez-2nd

Leader Barbara Hernandez-50th

Rep. Norma Hernandez-77th

Rep. Maura Hirschauer-49th

Rep. Hoan Huynh-13th

Rep. Jenn Ladisch Douglass-45th

Rep. Lindsey Lapointe-19th

Leader Natalie Manley-98th 

Leader Theresa Mah-24th

Rep. Joyce Mason-61st

Rep. Anna Moeller-43rd

Rep. Michelle Mussman-56th

Rep. Suzanne Ness-66th

Rep. Abdelnasser Rashid-21st

Rep. Anne Stava-Murray-81st, Women’s Caucus Chair

Rep. Nabeela Syed-51st

Rep. Ann M Williams-11th

Rep. Janet Yang Rohr-41st

Learn more about Karina’s Bill.